Edition: Paperback
ISBN: 9780571231959
No of pages: 480



This very distinctive new work on Tchaikovsky uniquely combines a lively biography of Russia's best-loved composer with a chronological guide to his music, ranging from the popular symphonies, concertos, operas and ballets, to some lesser known pieces. Professor Brown skilfully guides the reader through Tchaikovsky's music within the context of his life, and the result is a book which will be perhaps of particular interest to those who, knowing little or nothing of classical music, might wish to become acquainted with some of the greatest and most moving music ever composed. As for Tchaikovsky himself, he emerges as a man dogged with bouts of depression but capable of great and sustained kindness, devoted to his family, and unstinting with his time and money, even on behalf of virtual strangers. It is no wonder that when he died he was given a state funeral, nor that the massive crowds lining the streets delayed the procession to the cemetery by five hours.


Categorised as: Music, Stage & Screen
Sub-categories: Classical Music
Places: Russia
Genres & Themes: Depression; Ballet; Composers; Opera
Characters: Tchaikovsky

Masters of Russian Music
Gerald Abraham and M. D. Calvocoressi

First published in 1936, Calvocoressi's and Abraham's study was the first complete account of its subject to appear in any language, including Russian ...

Musorgsky and His Circle
Stephen Walsh

Musorgsky and His Circle is an accessible and thought-provoking intellectual biography of the five creators of some of the best-known and most admired Russian music ...

The Ninth
Harvey Sachs

An absorbing, multidimensional look at the premiere of Beethoven’s towering Ninth Symphony - one of the most influential and unprecedented compositions in the history of ...

Newsletter Sign-up

Keep in touch with all the latest news and events from Faber Social by signing up for the newsletter. Sign up here.

Free UK P&P

On orders over £25.00 (see conditions)