Faber Announces Publication of New Kazuo Ishiguro Novel

Friday 4th April: On the eve of the London Book Fair, Faber is thrilled to announce publication of Kazuo Ishiguro’s new novel entitled The Buried Giant. The novel will be published by Faber & Faber on 5th March 2015. Stephen Page with Angus Cargill has acquired UK and Commonwealth rights from Deborah Rogers at Rogers, Coleridge & White.

Stephen Page, CEO Faber & Faber:

‘A new Kazuo Ishiguro novel, ten years on from Never Let Me Go, is a huge moment for us as a company, and The Buried Giant is a truly sublime new chapter in one of the most significant bodies of work of anyone writing today. It is as surprising, moving and brilliant as you could hope for, and we can’t wait to publish.’

Sometimes savage, often intensely moving, Ishiguro’s first novel in a decade is about lost memories, love, revenge and war.

Publication will be a global event. For further news about this novel, please sign up at www.theburiedgiant.co.uk.

The following publishers have already acquired the novel:

UK: Faber; US: Knopf; Canada: Knopf; Brazil: Companhia Das Letras; China: STPH; France: Deux Terres; Germany: Blessing; Holland: Contact Atlas; Italy: Einaudi: Japan: Hayakawa; Russia: Eksmo; Spain: Anagrama (Spanish and Catalan); Turkey: Yapi Kredi.

Kazuo Ishiguro

Kazuo IshiguroKazuo Ishiguro was born in Nagasaki, Japan, in 1954 and came to Britain at the age of five. He is the author of six previous novels: A Pale View of Hills (1982, Winifred Holtby Prize), An Artist of the Floating World (1986, Whitbread Book of the Year Award, Premio Scanno, shortlisted for the Booker Prize), The Remains of the Day (1989, winner of the Booker Prize), The Unconsoled (1995, winner of the Cheltenham Prize), When We Were Orphans (2000, shortlisted for the Booker Prize) and Never Let Me Go (2005, Corine Internationaler Buchpreis, Serono Literary Prize, Casino de Santiago European Novel Award, shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize). Nocturnes (2009) was awarded the Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa International Literary Prize.

In 1995 Ishiguro received an OBE for Services to Literature, and in 1998 the French decoration of Chevalier de L'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres.

Both The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go have been adapted into highly acclaimed films - The Remains of the Day starring Emma Thompson and Anthony Hopkins, Never Let Me Go starring Keira Knightley, Carey Mulligan and Andrew Garfield. The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go have each sold in excess of 1,000,000 copies in Faber editions.

‘Kazuo Ishiguro is a master storyteller, in a class of his own making.’ Independent

‘An original and remarkable genius.’ The New York Times

‘A master craftsman.’ Margaret Atwood

‘The best and most original writer of his generation.’ Susan Hill